When we digest sugar which is a natural carbohydrate, it releases glucose or blood sugar - essential for our body to work properly. The body converts sugar to energy more quickly than fats or proteins which is why athletes and diabetics often eat jelly beans when they need a quick boost when their blood glucose levels are low.
For more information click here...
There are only 4 calories per bean, or about 100 calories per single serving (25 beans).
They have approximately 1 gram of carbohydrate per bean and zero fat as an extra bonus.
No. Jelly Belly jelly beans do not contain gelatine.
Yes they are, however some strict vegans may have issues with the beeswax and shellac used to give them their final buff and polish.
We do not use any wheat, rye, barley, or oats in the basic recipe for Jelly Belly jelly beans. The modified food starch used in the manufacture of our jelly beans is cornstarch.
Yes. We work very closely with all of our ingredient suppliers to ensure that all ingredients are free of dairy.
No. Despite some of our fun cocktail sounding names Jelly Belly jelly beans do not contain alcohol.
Please continue to check all ingredient statements on packages and bulk bins for peanut ingredients. Although we discontinued the Peanut Butter flavour of Jelly Belly beans (this flavour contained peanut butter and peanut flour) in 2009, it is possible this flavour may still be included in packages sold in a few retail stores until their inventories are depleted.
None of the other flavours of Jelly Belly beans now produced contain peanut as an ingredient, nor do we process peanuts in any of our manufacturing plants.
Yes they are. Jelly Belly beans have been kosher certified for the last two decades by the Kashrut supervision of KO Kosher Service. However, ever since mid 2007 all Jelly Belly products were certified under the Orthodox Union certification.